Embassy of the Republic of Fiji

Indonesia & Singapore
Sunday, July 21, 2024
English    |    Bahasa Indonesia


Fiji Government was formed in 1970, when the country gained independence from Great Britain. Fiji inherited a parliamentary democracy. The capital is Suva and it is one of the two cities in Fiji. The other city is Lautoka and both are located on the island of Viti Levu.

The estimated population of Fiji on 2015 stood at 840,201. Of the total 456,207 were Fijians, 320, 659 were Indians and 63,335 were others.

English is the official language. However, Fijian and Hindi are also taught in schools as part of the school curriculum. Indigenous Fijians have their own dialects and you can tell which province one comes from, from their dialect.

A multiracial, multi-cultural nation, Fiji is represented by all the major religions of the world. This is quickly obvious to the visitor who will see Christian churches, Mosques, Sikh and Hindu Bhuddist temples in towns and the countryside.

National Symbols

National Flag of Fiji
Fiji's flag flew for the first time on Independence Day, October 10, 1970. It includes the red, white and blue Union Flag of Britain in the top left-hand corner and the shield from the Fiji Coat of Arms on a light blue background in the fly.